Katie' Pau Life En France

Ma vie En France

Salles Adour February 9, 2010

Filed under: Travels in France — katiespaulife @ 9:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

After Biarritz I took the train East, passing Pau and arriving half an hour later at Tarbes. Ravid picked me up at the train station and took me to her place to spend the night.
One of the first things she said to me when I got in the car was, “Now when we get to the house do not be afraid,” I laughed and she insisted, “No, really, don’t be afraid. My mother-in-law is making pâté, so there is raw meat everywhere”.
I walked in to find Ravid wasn’t exagerating. Two women at the dining table were putting meat through this grinder and mixing it with herbs. Must have been about 3 or 4 very large buckets full of ground beef the “stuff” sitting around the dining room and kitchen. Fortunately, I’ve never been the squeamish type and after working in two kitchens I’m pretty used to nasty mass amounts of raw meat.
After talking to the women in the kitchen, Ravid gave me a tour of the house and village. We visited her host sister’s horse and I learned a bit about the buildings and history of Salles Adour. The simple irrigation system was pretty interesting to see and I loved walking along the stone streets, seeing the vilage “castle”, the church and the city hall where Ravid and Luic got hitched six months ago.

Ravid’s situation is kind of interesting…she is only married to Luic because she is Israelian and couldn’t get a visa unless she married her boyfriend. They had been dating for 3 years and decided, “What the hell, we plan on getting married eventually anyway!”

Presently they live with Luic’s family in a huge, old (were talking 300 yrs old) house. The relatives were all hospitable and kind. Luic was gone for the weekend, but I met everyone else and had a great time watching rugby with them, having my first apertif and another delicious four course dinner.

I was exhausted from Biarritz and slept like a rock that night. Ravid accompanid me to Lourdes the next day, but once again I will have to put that blog off till tomorrow. Sleep is calling, goodnight!

 

Leave a Reply

